To Tech or Not to Tech

P1380500

There we all were at a Technology in the Classroom conference, busy twittering and blogging each other about the great strides in technological advancement we were learning to bring back to our schools… not. We were busy trying to get started with this, and here I am a half a week later still working on the layout of my new teaching-related-blog.

I am not new to blogging. I have a poetry blog, a photography blog, a simple-but-wise-observations blog, and a newspaper column which can could be seen as an intermittently paid blog. I am quite pleased to have realized the chance for an entire different type of blogging related to my job as a teacher. Still, I am not quite convinced – yet – that we are all aware of why we are so gung ho about technology.

Maybe if I find that I become part of an intelligent, dynamic conversation about teaching English, of the sort that can only occur online, I will have found the answer. So far, the students who were at the conference to convince us teachers of the worth of the effort only talked about the chance for students to explore learning about things they want to learn about. The students made a deal out of the fact that teachers will be better off not having to read 30 essays on the same topic.

??

That, my friends, is not dependent on blogging. I just got 28 papers on 28 different topics from my first year English class. Each paper was the student’s own design of graphics, visuals, learning aids, and comprehension tasks relating to the topic they wrote about. Topics ranged from the history of denim (written by a young lad who is proud of his job in a jeans store) to the digestive system, Mont St. Michel, and the spread of cult media.

The only difference if my students had produced these texts online is that people outside the classroom could read them. Strangers. I’m going to ask the class if they would have preferred this. I am also going to try to get them to start blogging reflections over having done it, as well as their reflections on other topics.

But — I need to share the thoughts that were handed to me by a small group of students who studied vocational media at my school: they hated blogging. They were supposed to blog every day – writing their work logs and reflections on the progress of their projects. These projects covered many weeks or even months, and still the students found it stressful to fit in the blogging time. They resented having to interrupt project time to blog about it. (Yes, I thought to say to them that it could have been done as homework… but I decided to hold my tongue. Chances are they know this, and that they did work outside of the classroom. These are high achieving and ambitious youngsters.)

It wasn’t just the time spent blogging that irked them. While the technology in the classroom course taught us that students are highly motivated by being able to share information and receive comments from the world at large, these media students said that was the very thing that stopped them. They were so caught up in creating the best appearance and format for this blog that the entire world was to see, read and ultimately judge, that they were never satisfied.

Having spent days figuring out how to organize my wordpress teacher blog so that not every lesson and posting I make queues up below here in one long scrolling list, I must say I can relate.

Maybe it will be worth it, if the aforementioned brilliant connectedness occurs. But if, as with most blogs, I sit here talking to myself… can I convince my students that ought to be doing the same?

One thing I am sure about, the time my students spend “talking with your neighbor” – which I try to make happen at least every 6-8 minutes in the classroom – must not be sacrificed for time spent mucking around with pixels and widgets. My students may not be connected to the rest of the world on their computers, but they actively use English in real time every day. Now if blogging in English will help them sharpen their attention to how they write and express themselves, and they can continue using EO – English Only – in the classroom as they try to get their blogs up and running – then they will benefit full out.

The media students just shook their heads when I said this. “You have no idea how horrible it will be for them, and how useless,” they warned.

I felt it is a warning worth sharing.

Leave a Reply

